The right to strike - country factsheets

The right to strike varies considerably across Europe, often with specific rules and restrictions imposed on public service workers. The European Trade Union Institute has produced 35 country factsheets that explain the latest legal situation. EPSU has also begun to add countries outside the European Union and candidate countries, starting with Moldova, Russia and the Ukraine and further factsheets will follow.

Each factsheet sets out the main legal basis for the right to strike, indicating which international standards the country has signed up to. It then runs through the main rules covering:

  • who has the right to call a strike,
  • definition of a strike,
  • who may participate in a strike,
  • procedural requirements, and
  • legal consequences of participating in a strike.

The factsheet then looks at the case law of international and European bodies, including in particular the International Labour Organisation and Council of Europe.

  1. Albania

  2. Austria

  3. Belgium

  4. Bulgaria

  5. Croatia

  6. Cyprus

  7. Czech Republic

  8. Denmark

  9. Estonia

  10. Finland

  11. France

  12. Germany

  13. Greece

  14. Hungary

  15. Iceland

  16. Ireland

  17. Italy

  18. Latvia

  19. Lithuania

  20. Luxembourg

  21. Malta

  22. Moldova

  23. Montenegro

  24. Netherlands

  25. North Macedonia

  26. Norway

  27. Poland

  28. Portugal

  29. Romania

  30. Russia

  31. Serbia

  32. Slovakia

  33. Slovenia

  34. Spain

  35. Sweden

  36. Turkey

  37.  Ukraine

  38. U.K.

Europe Europe

More like this