MEPs endorse composition of new temporary tax committee to investigate financial crimes: It is time to act now!

© Can Stock Photo / ibreakstock

(19 March 2018) The European Parliament yesterday approved in Plenary the composition of the new TAX Committee. You can find here a list of the 45 Members of the European Parliament that were appointed to the new Special Committee on Financial Crimes, Tax Evasion and Tax Avoidance.  EPSU welcomes the establishment of the Committee: we now expect the committee to focus on effective implementation, to monitor the impact of the recommendations the Parliament has put forward as well as to put pressure on members states to deliver results. Here the letter that EPSU sent to the appointed members of the Committee to outline the main priorities to crack down on tax evasion and tax dodging practices.

The first meeting of the Committee is expected to take place next week on Thursday 22 March - when its members are expected to select a Chair, Vice Chairs, as well as the Rapporteurs. You can find the Committee's mandate here

More like this