Joint PR from the network for sustainable development in public procurement - key demands and messages

Joint press release on the occasion of the European Commission’s Conference “Modernising public procurement” 30 June 2011 {{KEY DEMANDS AND MESSAGES FROM THE NETWORK FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT IN PUBLIC PROCUREMENT}} (30 June 2011) The Network for Sustainable Development in Public Procurement (EPSU, GMB, UNISON, EMF, EFFAT, EFBWW, SOLIDAR, EFTA, Fairtrade International, WFTO-Europe, FERN, EMCEF, Ver.di, TUC, ENSIE, UNI Europa, Setem, and NETWORKWEAR) on the occasion of the European Commission’s Conference “modernising public procurement” on 30 June 2011 reiterate their ‘five key demands’ for the revision of the procurement Directives. These demands call for public procurement to contribute to a socially sustainable economy that focuses on quality employment, decent work, international labour standards, fair trade, environmental and sustainability objectives rather than just the existence of an internal market. In the ‘key demands’ the Network stresses that when public authorities buy sustainable products and services this contributes to the EU objectives of sustainable development and the EU 2020 strategy. Value for money/best value in public contracting is not achieved by going for lowest price - it is achieved only when wider social, ethical and environmental benefits are given clear weight in public procurement decisions. The Network expect the follow up to the Green Paper on public procurement to take this on board. Read the ‘five demands’: - [EN->http://www.epsu.org/IMG/pdf/key_demands_Green_Paperfinal_EN.pdf] - [DE->http://www.epsu.org/IMG/pdf/key_demands_Green_Paperfinal_DE.pdf] - [EPSU response->http://www.epsu.org/a/7559] The Network’s contribution to the procurement debate builds on earlier work on the inconsistencies between internal market policies influencing public procurement and wider social and sustainability policy objectives and commitments of the EU. Read the [Evaluation in English, French, German, Swedish and Russian->http://www.epsu.org/a/7046] For more information please contact: EFBWW – European Federation of building and woodworkers www.efbww.org Contact: Werner Buelens EFFAT – European Federation of Food Agriculture and Tourism www.effat.org Contact: Kerstin Howald k.howald@effat.org EFTA - European Fair Trade Association FLO - Fairtrade Labelling Organizations International WFTO-E - World Fair Trade Organization - Europe EMCEF- Europen Mine, Energy and Chemical Workers ‘Federation http://www.emcef.org/ Contact: Reinhard Reibsch rreibsch@emcef.org EMF – European Metal Workers www.emf-fem.org Contact: Judith Kirton-Darling Kirton-Darling@emf-fem.org ENSIE - www.ensie.org Contact: Patrizia Bussi info@ensie.org EPSU – European Public Service Unions www.epsu.org Contact: Penny Clarke pclarke@epsu.org FERN – www.fern.org Contact Veerle Dossche veerle@fern.org GMB – British Trade Union (Multi-sector) www.gmb.org.uk Contact: Kathleen Walker Shaw kathleenwalkershaw@gmbbrussels.be NETWORKWEAR - www.networkwear.eu Contact: Ramon Vives Xiol rvives@setem.org SETEM – www.setem.org Contact: Ramon Vives - rvives@setem.org SOLIDAR – www.solidar.org Contact – Conny Reuter conny.reuter@solidar.org TUC – British Trades Union Congress www.tuc.org.uk Contact: Tim Page tpage@tuc.org.uk UNI Europa – www.uniglobalunion.org Contact: Laila Castaldo - laila.castaldo@uniglobalunion.org. UNISON –British Public Sector Trade Union www.unison.org.uk Contact: Margie Jaffe ver.di United Services Union www.verdi.de VER.DI Contact Armin Duttine – armin.duttine@verdi.de * * *