Contributions to the EPSU Energy Conference

EPSU European Energy Conference
Understanding European Policy on Internal Market Electricity and Gas

Preparing for the European Evaluation of the Internal Market(*)


{International Trade Union House, 5 Boulevard du Roi Albert II, Brussels

For more information on European integration and the education work of EPSU read here

Day 1: Thursday, 3 November 2005

Opening/ Welcome/ Objectives

President of the EPSU Standing Committee Public Utilities, Sven Bergelin, Ver.di, Germany

Internal market for electricity and gas: what the Commission is doing?

William Webster, European Commission Directorate General Transport and Energy

Internal market for electricity and gas: a critical view

Steve Thomas, PSIRU, University of Greenwich

See also his report on the European Union Gas and Electricity Directives

Key note speech

Claude Turmes, MEP

Reactions and Debate/ Panel I

Moderator: Sven Bergelin, Ver.di, Germany

Reactions and Debate/ Panel II Our social Partners

Moderator: Jan Ruden, SEKO, Sweden

Paul Buteel, Eurelectric General Secretary

Jean-Marie Devos, Eurogas General Secretary

presentation upon request at

Juha Kekkonen, ETSO, Executive Vice President at Fingrid (Finland) and member of ETSO Steering Committee

Reactions and Debate III

Moderator: Reszo Gal, VDSZSZ, Hungary

Gert De Block, CEDEC, European municipal distribution companies

Beatrice Widmer, VKU, German municipal companies association


Carl Wood, former Commissioner of the CPUC (California)

Jacques Andres Troesch, Commissioner of CRE, French regulator

Pierre Bornard, ETSO, Managing Director Power System
Division RTE (France) and Chairman of ETSO Steering Committee

Summary of discussion

Steve Thomas, PSIRU, University of Greenwich


End of the 1st day

Day 2: Friday, 4 November 2005

Moderator: Claude Pommery, FNME-CGT, France

Consumers and TSOs: the steps to take

Marcel Bial, UCTE General Secretary

Jean-Paul Aghetti, Chair of Working Group electricity, IFIEC-Europe

Views from the academic world on the internal market

Yannick Perez, professor economics, Paris

Ferdinand Banks, Professor marco-economics, Stockholm

Gunda Kirchner, researcher Austrian Arbeitkammer, Vienna

The future of the Internal market for electricity and gas - Options for the future

Jan Willem Goudriaan, EPSU Deputy General Secretary

See also the EPSU Contribution to the Progress Report on the Internal Market for Electricity and Gas

Debate on different interventions with the participants

Mrs. Britta Thomsen, MEP, vice-president of the EP Committee on Industry, Technology, Research and Energy

Closing address

Commissioner Andris Piebalgs, European Commission for Energy


End of Conference

- Final programme

- List of participants

(*)with the support of the European Commission

Other interventions

INTERVENTO di Carlo DE MASI (Segretario Generale FLAEI-CISL Italia)

More like this